fabric presents Overmono

Regular price £9.00

Following on from the success of their Everything You Need and Pieces of 8 / Echo Rush EPs, brothers Ed and Tom Russell curate a mix for that takes in dubstep, dnb, techno and the experimental end of electronica. 

“We’d just stepped out to get a curry from a take-away called Bombay to Bromley which is nearby our studio when we got an email asking us to do a mix for fabric. There was something about the vibe that evening that’s quite typical of south east London on a cold winter’s night. Overheard conversations and disagreements. Night buses with steamed up windows. Sirens in the distance. A bit tense but exciting at the same time. You know there’s always something going on somewhere out there. There’s a lot of energy in the air. This mix is all about trying to capture that feeling, a nod to music scenes past and present.”

A mix that spans decades of music history and genres, it sees the likes of Equiknoxx rubbing cheeks with Ed Rush & Optical, Anz’ ‘Morphing Into Brighter’ blended into Actress’s ‘Caves of Paradise’. It contains an unreleased gem from Blawan and Orca’s much sought after jungle classic ‘Intellect’, an atmospheric jam that’s one of the mix’s crown jewels.  

Dotted throughout the mix are spoken word segments that blend the music with thoughts on cultural movements and personal moments. These include L.B. Dub Corp’s ‘I Have A Dream ft. Benjamin Zephaniah’, an exploration on the possibilities of multicultural Britain and For Those I Love’s ‘I Have A Love’, an ode to the passing of the artist’s best friend.


Note: Your digital bundle consists of a single track of the mix, as well as mixed tracks that when played in sequence form the continuous mix. See fabric Records on Bandcamp for a bundle of the full tracks included on this compilation. 


  1. Project Sound - Sweet In The Morning (Project Sound Mix) [Hardtrax Records]*
  2. 515 Connection - Positive & Negative [TDSR]
  3. RM Project - Rock 2 Tha Beat (Greenery Mix) [Smokin’ Rhythms]
  4. Y U QT - Fort Wibbler [Warehouse Raves]
  5. CZR - Structure [Texture Recordings]*
  6. D'Menace - I'm Great-full [Defected Records]
  7. Octo Octa - River [fabric Records]*
  8. Vinyl Blair - Scratch N Sniff (The One Billion Dub Mix) [Hard Hands]
  9. Continous Cool - Automatic [Cyber Records]*
  10. Global Method - Good Life (Orbital Mix) [White label]*
  11. DJ Hyperactive - Reptilian Tank [Strictly Hype Recordings / Contact]
  12. Alec Falconer - New Junk City [EXT]*
  13. G.O.D. - Watch Ya Bass Bins [Urban Dubz Music]*
  14. Stevie B-Zet - Everlasting Pictures - Right Through Infinity (Booker T.'s Everlasting Klub Mix) [Eye Q Records]
  15. X-press 2 - Say What! (London Underground Mix) [Junior Boys Own]
  16. The Two Amigos - Everybody Get Up (Vocal Mix) [Footwork Records]*
  17. The Beatfreaks - Boo Dem [Undercover Artists]
  18. Dr Motte & Westbam - Sunshine [Low Spirit]
  19. Marascia - Genetically Changed [No Label Records]*
  20. Eris Drew - Reactiv-8 [fabric Records]*
  21. Thursday Club - Dis Is Dis [TCR]