Aim - FABRICLIVE 17 Digital

Regular price £8.00

Andy Turner, aka Aim, was born and raised in the rugged landscapes of Cumbria and spent his youth enjoying the finest years of Manchester's musical renaissance. The son of a jazz drummer in a music loving Northern family, he began collecting vinyl as a kid and became a devoted adult crate digger. His love of making beats saw him hanging around the record shops of Oldham St in the Northern Quarter, where he handed a demo to Mark Rae and eventually signed to Grand Central Records. From his home in the Lake District, Aim has forged a career as a most unlikely hip hop artist over three albums for the label. His debut album in '99 was an astounding success; 'Cold Water Music' married powerful beats and intricate melodies with stunning, uniquely English vocals about lost love and winter weather. A DJ since his early 20s, Aim has taken his live band on the road in recent years. He is now working on his next artist album and concentrating on DJing.

"I really love seeing people dance and get off on tunes. I try and play different styles of music during a gig but at the same time give it continuity and a progression. This is a kaleidoscopic journey through some of my favourite music." Aim

Take an unhurried journey through Aim's record collection and influences. Opening with the languid sounds of label-mate Tony D, Aim segues and fades Boards Of Canada, James Yorkston's delicate folk, and INI, Scott Lark, Lewis Parker and Boogiemonsters deep and melodic hip hop. Lords Of The Underground make a welcome appearance with their classic 'Faith', and there's lashings of sub-sonic melody as Bloik invite you to lounge around. The incredibly rare, and beautiful saxophone drenched, 'Today' from Tom Scott (containing Pete Rock & CL Smooth's 'T.R.O.Y.' sample), will be a welcome interlude for fellow collectors. Aim switches down a gear, with A Tribe Called Quest, Ed OG & Da Bulldogs lament and exciting hip hop producer Prefuse 73 turns up with Diverse. Characteristic funk selections include Telegraph Avenue, Tempo 70 and The Village Callers. The relaxed journey concludes with Ice Cube's 'It Was a Good Day', the country styling of The Byrds, and Fingathing's gentle 'Lady Nebula'.


  1. Tony D Come Back To You Grand Central
  2. Boards Of Canada Roygbiv Warp
  3. James Yorkston St Patrick Domino
  4. INI What You Say Rapster
  5. Scott Lark Insight Contract Recording
  6. Lewis Parker 101 Pianos (I've Put Out The Lights) Virgin
  7. Boogiemonsters Strange EMI
  8. Lords Of The Underground Faith (Alternate TV Track) Pendulum
  9. Bloik Loungin' Mint Source
  10. Tom Scott Today UMG
  11. A Tribe Called Quest Award Tour Zomba
  12. Ed O.G. & Da Bulldogs Love Comes and Goes UMG
  13. Diverse Jus Biz Chocolate Industries
  14. Telegraph Avenue Something Going Lazarus Audio Products
  15. Tempo 70 El Galleton Mericana/Salsoul
  16. The Village Callers I Don't Need No Doctor Rampart
  17. Ice Cube It Was A Good Day (Radio Mix) Priority
  18. The Byrds Wasn't Born To Follow Sony
  19. Fingathing Lady Nebula Grand Central