Skip to product information
1 of 1


Akufen - fabric 17

Regular price £8.00 GBP
Regular price £0.00 GBP Sale price £8.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Every so often, techno throws us a truly classic album, made by an artist with bags of personality and character. Akufen's My Way (Force Inc., 2002) was one; a heart-stealing blend of gorgeous, glitchy soundscapes, created in self-imposed isolation by - of all people - a former butcher. As Akufen (Marc Leclair) prepares to record his follow-up, Fabric presents his first ever DJ mix CD, showcasing some of the sharpest new record labels and producers. 'fabric 17' was meticulously planned, and recorded in one take, using two turntables and a mixer. Akufen records for Perlon, and Musique Risquee, and has remixed Richie Hawtin, Massive Attack, Cabaret Voltaire, and Yello.

"I always love risk taking when it comes to my mixing. Marrying the most awkward music together often turns out to be crazy and sexy. And I strongly believe that if it's done right, it'll compliment the artist's work while challenging the listener's mind. It's all a matter of momentum, like time doesn't exist anymore. Ninety percent of the people on this CD are close friends of mine. Right from the beginning my goal was to put as many of those people on this record. My manager said 'You can't please everyone,' but I thought I had to try. I think I found a way. It took me God knows how many hours before I thought I had it right." Akufen

'fabric 17' is a minimal house tour-de-force, bursting with energy, excitement, and invention. The 21 tracks perfectly describe our new 4/4 ethic - keep it clever, catchy, and brilliantly detailed - and are beautifully mixed in an extremely individual style. Akufen's love of Henri Mancini, and all things quirky, bleeds from the grooves; check The Rip Off Artist's hymn to poverty meeting Senor Coconut, or the drug-addictive Crackhaus for evidence.


1. Philippe Cam - LFO Drive [Traum]
2. Matthew Dear - Dog Days (Pantytec Remix) [Ghostly Intl/Spectral]
3. Cabanne - Karashik [Karat]
4. Kirkor - 1968 (Ark Remix) [Battles]
5. Pantytec - Alabaster [Perlon]
6. Kalabrese - Set Me Free [Perlon]
7. The Rip Off Artist - Little Tiny Eight Inch Jack [Vertical Form]
8. Señor Coconut - Smoke on the Water [multiColor]
9. - Blood Red (Lyin' Beats) [Fair Park]
10. Wighnomy Brothers & Robag Wruhme - Bobb [Freude Am Tanzen]
11. S-max - Red Fibreglass [7th City]
12. Ultrakurt - M'Gell [Telegraph]
13. Herbert - Close To Me [!K7]
14. Freaks - Instrument (Soul Capsule On It Remix) [Music for Freaks]
15. Crackhaus - Ample Slacks [Onitor]
16. Mossa - Bucolik [Circus Company]
17. Luciano & Serafin - Yaki Soba [Telegraph]
18. Soul Center - Funky Sterling [Mute]
19. Horror Inc. - Siamese Twins (Mike Shannon's Incision Mix) [Revolver Canada]
20. Jeff Milligan - In My Life [Background]
21. Steve Beaupré - My Old Lady [Musique Risquée]