Skip to product information
1 of 1


Visionquest - fabric 61

Regular price £10.00 GBP
Regular price £0.00 GBP Sale price £10.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
Visionquest are a dynamic, charismatic and unstoppable force that have quietly crept up and grasped the horns of dance music in 2011. Comprising of Seth Troxler, Lee Curtiss, Ryan Crosson and Shaun Reeves, four Detroit refugees who each have their solo careers in their own right, together they career through barren terrain and mystical energies in the next episode of the fabric series. In Native American cultures, a Visionquest is a spiritual quest associated with new beginnings and revelatory journeys. Meeting as teenagers in the collapsed city of Detroit, these four young creatives embarked on their own voyage together that has brought them to the forefront of the electronic music community. Surrounded by the explosion of techno in their home city, they each connected deeply with its heartbeat. The youngest of the pack, Seth Troxler’s stepfather was himself a DJ and they each began playing and promoting local events. Keen to etch their own mark as DJs and producers in the wider world, they eloped to Berlin and forged successful solo careers, before coming together again to form the Visionquest production collective responsible for crossover remixes such as Tracey Thorn ‘Swimming’ and Kiki ‘Good Voodoo’. In 2011 they formed the Visionquest label that houses a rising circle of talent such as Footprintz, Laura Jones, Tale Of Us and the biggest track of the year from Benoit & Sergio ‘Walk and Talk’.
"When deciding together which tracks we wanted to go with we took into consideration the timelessness of the songs, tracks from our past and our present and presented them to tell our story. The start is very representative of the Visionquest DJ sound and the end shows the eclectic sound of our label. It goes from music for clubs to music for life." Shaun Reeves

The meditative ‘Wasteland’ from Tin Man commences this almost supernatural journey, urging you to relax and sit back for the ride. Throughout the subsequent seventy minutes, Visionquest sweep gently from light atmospherics through into warm grooves and hypnotic basslines, embodying a spellbinding sound that seems suspended in time. The close circle from their early days such as Konrad Black and Toronto’s My Favorite Robot are represented in the mix as well as early heroes such as Green Velvet and Carl Craig. Iconic records such as the Cassius ‘The Sound Of Violence’ and this year’s anthemic Aquarius Heaven ‘Can’t Buy Love’ are sandwiched between esoteric jewels. The end spirals deeper into Visionquest’s dreams and pop infused hallucinations as the auras of the young Montreal duo Footprintz merge with Italian duo Tale Of Us. The playful close on Wildcookie’s ‘The Song With No Ending’ is an archetypal Visionquest twist as they bow out in style.


01 Tin Man - Wasteland [Global A]
02 STL - Portside Waves [Perlon]
03 Soul Center* - Hal 2010 [Shitkatapult]
04 Seuil - In The Moon [Supplement Facts]
05 Konrad Black - Doodimbouttogay [Visionquest]
06 Cassius - The Sound Of Violence (Franco Cinelli Remix) [Cassius]
07 Terje Bakke - Ekaterinburg [Be Chosen]
08 Kollektiv Turmstrasse & Florian Schirmacher - Uneins (Aril Brikha Remix) [Connaisseur Superieur]
09 Catz ‘n Dogz feat. Paul Randolph - I'm Free (Carl Craig Remix) [Mothership]
10 Phreek Plus One feat. Mr. White - Passion (DJ T. Remix) [Compost]
11 Loosefingers - Winterflower [Alleviated]
12 My Favorite Robot - Forest Fires [Visionquest]
13 DVS1 - Polyphonic Love [Transmat]
14 Green Velvet - Abduction [Relief]
15 Aquarius Heaven feat. Dani Siciliano - Can't Buy Love [Wolf + Lamb]
16 Tale Of Us & Footprintz - Tale/Foot Break [Visionquest]
17 Footprintz - Heaven Felt Like Night [Visionquest]
18 Wildcookie - Song With No Ending [Tru Thoughts]