Skip to product information
1 of 3


fabric presents Danilo Plessow (MCDE)

Regular price £10.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £10.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Danilo Plessow (Motor City Drum Ensemble), reaches globally for inspiration for his 'fabric presents' compilation. As with his monthly radio show 'State of Rhythm' on Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM station, Danilo plays with a range of eras, locations and genres, with an emphasis on instrumentation.

The mix was recorded when the planet was struggling with the second wave of the Covid-19 pandemic. Danilo asked friends from all over the world what meaning music has for them, then cut their comments into the flow of the compilation. Their statements become ghost voices of a utopia whose relevance seems to be greater than ever in the face of global political and social conflict.

The interplay of styles is from the off: US composer Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith’s quartet merges with the tablas of Franco-Chilean jazz trio SKUAS who hand over to the Berlin techno-dub kings Basic Channel, followed by the New York organist Ray Castoldi aka Scientist. The comp includes both Danilo’s exclusive and delicate ‘Nightfall’ with jazz instrumentalists Francesco Geminiani and Peter Schlamb lending their talents, as well as 'Decay/Sustain/Release' under his project name Basic-Variation. The furious finale, introduced by the french avant-garde rock sounds of Jean-Claude Petit's 'Stones Of Law', leads on to Moonstarr's'Detriot', and concludes with John Kongo's disco-infused 'I'm Dreaming'; the mix and its author are brought back to themselves - a boundless and timeless manifesto, a declaration of love to the unifying power of music.


1. Intro 
2. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith - Understanding Body Messages 
3. SKUAS - Traversée 
4. Rhythm & Sound w/ Paul St. Hilaire - Music A Fe Rule Part 1 
5. Scientist - In Orbit 
6. Recloose ft Dwele - Can’t Take It (Herbert’s Some Dumb Dub) 
7. Moogroove - Dark Room 
8. Jeroen Vink - Waka Wakah
9. Powder - Random Ladder with 40 
10. Danilo Plessow ft. Francesco Geminiani & Peter Schlamb - Nightfall 
11. Proxyan - Sky Walkers 
12. Basic Variation - Decay Sustain Release 
13. Ciel - Raindance 
14. Hypnobeat - Can God Rewind? (part 2) 
15. Cabaret Voltaire - Taxi Mutant 
16. THE ORDER - E.W.R. (Sex) 
17. The Other People Place - It’s Your Love 
18. $tinkworx - Mnemosyne 
19. Roy Davis Jr - Broken Machines 
20. Jonny L - This Time (Carl Craig Mix 2) 
21. Logue - Keep Me From Pain 
22. A² - Rebirth 
23. Sansibar - Absence Of Being 
24. Family Unit - Freak (House Mix) 
25. Iridium - Ill America 
26. Jean-Claude Petit - Stones Of Law 
27. Moonstarr - Detriot 
28. John Kongos - I'm Dreaming (Any Moment I May Wake Up Screaming) 



A1 SKUAS – Traversée [Aroc]
A2 Scientist - In Orbit [X-Ray Records]
A3 Jeroen Vink - Waka Wakah [Reliant]
B1 Moogroove - Dark Room [Essential Media Group]
B2: Cabaret Voltaire - Taxi Mutant [Plastex]
C1 Logue - Keep Me From Pain [White Label]
C2 Family Unit – Freak (House Mix) [C.R.E.A.M. Records]
C3 Iridium - Ill America [Lowdown Records]
D1 Danilo Plessow ft. Francesco Geminiani & Peter Schlamb – Nightfall [fabric Records]
D2 THE ORDER - E.W.R. (Sex) [Male Records]
D3 Jean-Claude Petit - Stones Of Law [Fauves-Puma Productions]


 **Customers get free digital downloads of the their CD and vinyl products on the date of purchase**  

**Digital products are mixed tracks that form the continuous mix when played in sequence.

**2XLP features 8 full length tracks from the mix mastered by Matt Colton and pressed to double vinyl complete with download card.