Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price £8.00 GBP
Regular price £0.00 GBP Sale price £8.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

DJ Marky is one of the most respected and well known drum & bass DJs in the world. Although still only 37 (at the time of writing), the Brazilian has been playing music in clubs for a quarter of a century, and yet instils every set he plays with an infectious enthusiasm and careful perfectionism that belies his long and experienced career as a DJ. After honing his skills behind the decks throughout the 1980s and 1990s in his home city of Sao Paulo, DJ Marky arrived in the UK around the Millennium and turned what was then a very insular, UK-dominated drum & bass scene on its head. Since the time when the genre was at its most underground and masculine, Marky's vivacious DJ performances and floor-focused, uplifting selections have brought a slice of Brazilian sunshine to drum & bass.

"This mix has all my favourite tracks at the moment. It's all music I really love and am passionate about. The first thing I thought was that I wanted to do something different to what people that come to see me play would get. I don't like the idea of trying to put as many tunes as possible on one CD. I want people to hear the music completely, not just one minute of each track; the mix is important, but music comes first." DJ Marky

If there's one thing that's predictable about a DJ Marky set, it is its unpredictability. As a genre, drum & bass is built on a huge variety of sounds, styles, influences and approaches, and with a DJ Marky set, you're never quite sure what you're going to get. From smooth, musical 'liquid' to dark, cerebral atmospherics and intense floor-filling 'jump-up', Marky is renowned for the surprising variety of his selections.

01 S.P.Y. - By Your Side [Spearhead]
02 dRamatic & dbAudio - Rolling Times [Phuzion]
03 DJ Marky & S.P.Y. - Yellow Shoes [Innerground]
04 Die & Interface feat. William Cartwright - Bright Lights (Rollers Mix) [Toolroom]
05 Lynx - Chess Funk [Detail]
06 Fierce & Vicious Circle - Section [Quarantine]
07 Klute - Will You Still Love Me? [Commercial Suicide]
08 Makoto & Deeizm - Untold [HE:Digital / Human Elements]
09 Calibre - Even If [Signature]
10 8-Bits & Q-Project - T1 [Innerground]
11 Logistics with IllSkillz - Notes From The Block [Hospital]
12 Heavy 1 - Millers [Samurai]
13 Icicle - Nowhere [Invisible]
14 Skream - Motorway [Exit]
15 Marcus Intalex - Steady [Soul:r]
16 Siren - Control [Siren]
17 S.P.Y. - Hotspot [Innerground]
18 Nymfo - Matchstick V.I.P. [Commercial Suicide]
19 Break - Time After Time [Symmetry]
20 DJ Marky & S.P.Y. - Brainstorm [Innerground]
21 Culture Shock - Cathedral [Ram]
22 Commix - Double Double [Metalheadz]
23 Marcus Intalex & S.P.Y. - Paulista Dub [Soul:r]
24 DJ Marky & S.P.Y. - Mystic Sunset [Innerground]