Skip to product information
1 of 1


Daniel Avery - FABRICLIVE 66

Regular price £10.00 GBP
Regular price £0.00 GBP Sale price £10.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
There may be lots of people, most of all Daniel Avery, who are surprised at the direction his musical path has taken. A self-confessed late starter to the world of dancefloors, instead being drawn to the guitars of The Stooges and The Smashing Pumpkins in his teens, Daniel Avery has come a long way in a short space of time to make some of the most forward-thinking, original and diverse contemporary electronic music around. Devouring his dad’s record collection from a young age, it was the discovery of Mary Anne Hobbs’ ‘Breezeblock’ show that illuminated exactly what makes club music so special and propelled him to apply as a warm-up DJ at south coast club night, Project Mayhem; a job that showcased his broad and eclectic tastes, and a job that no doubt changed his life. Now releasing on ‘kindred spirit’ Erol Alkan’s Phantasy label and with an album in the works for next year, Avery has quietly but surely cemented his reputation as a producer steeped in musical knowledge, with an innate skill for breaking boundaries with each and every production.
"It's rare to be able to take such risks in a club, especially at a time when anybody can mix together crowd-pleasing fodder on their laptop. That's not for me. I love weird records; that original, lawless spirit of acid house where the music is pulsing but will also throw in some mind-bending, psychedelic elements to knock you sideways and make you lose yourself within it. This mix is my take on that idea." Daniel Avery

A mix made solely for the floor, Avery’s FABRICLIVE 66 is exactly the kind of set you would hear him playing if you walked into any club at peak time. But this is not thoughtless music; there’s a real need to take the listener somewhere with this mix, to take you by surprise and make you lose yourself within the expertly selected tracks. Featuring a mix of new and exclusive tracks alongside Avery’s own productions, this is also a celebration of the labels and artists who have both worked with and inspired Avery on a regular basis. In addition to ‘Effect Tweak’ made with Justin Robertson, you’ll find another exclusive track from Avery’s idol and supporter, Andrew Weatherall - in his guise as The Asphodells with Timothy J Fairplay - made purely for this mix. Alongside Avery’s ‘Naïve Reception’, all three tracks are arguably produced to capture that certain specific dancefloor lose-yourself-completely mentality. Something Avery manages effortlessly.

01 Daniel Avery - The Eagle [Phantasy]
02 Cowboy Rhythmbox - Shake [Cómeme]
03 Telephones - Kanal (Prins Thomas Sure Oppstøt) [Full Pupp]
04 Rework - Touch Yourself [Meant]
05 Nautiluss - Troubleman [Turbo]
06 Daniel Avery - Need Electric [Phantasy]
07 Daniel Avery - Naïve Reception [Phantasy]
08 Sneaker - You Think You Think [Uncanny Valley]
09 Simian Mobile Disco - Supermoon [Wichita]
10 Magnets - Game Theory [Kill Em All]
11 Daniel Avery & The Deadstock 33s - Effect Tweak [Solitary Cyclist]
12 Daniel Avery - Water Jump [Phantasy]
13 James Welsh - Something Borrowed [Join Our Club]
14 Daniel Avery - Taste [Phantasy]
15 Forward Strategy Group - Elegant Mistakes [Perc Trax]
16 JR Seaton - Way Savvy (Gatto Fritto Remix) [Relish]
17 Morgan Hammer - Libillule (Matt Walsh Remix) [Clouded Vision]
18 Viadrina - It's OK (Prince Club Remix) [Klasse]
19 Miss Kittin - Girlz [Heidi Presents Jackathon Jams]
20 Raudive - Dancing And Slaving [Wires]
21 Kassem Mosse - Workshop 12 (A1) [Workshop]
22 The Asphodells - Dry Heat [Rotters Golf Club]
23 Compuphonic - Sequoia [Moodmusic]