Skip to product information
1 of 1


Erol Alkan - FABRICLIVE 77

Regular price £10.00 GBP
Regular price £0.00 GBP Sale price £10.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
London born and bred, Alkan has spent the last two decades building up a reputation as a sonic innovator. From genre-spanning sets at his own legendary Trash club night to regular appearances at Bugged Out, via production credits including Late Of The Pier and Kindness and remixes for the likes of Metronomy, Tame Impala and Justice, his inimitable brand of mutant techno electro disco has soundtracked a generation.

In 2007 Alkan’s burgeoning label Phantasy was born, the springboard for critically acclaimed releases from artists including Daniel Avery, Connan Mockasin and newest signing Ghost Culture, and he last year made his own solo debut with the release of the Illumination EP, drawing praise from the Guardian, Pitchfork, NME and more. With the solo release under his belt the time was right for Erol to step up to the FABRICLIVE mantle.
"I certainly didn’t want this mix to be a flyer or advert for me as a DJ. I feel this mix is quite specific to fabric as they are all records I would want to play in that environment. Even though I have had the benefit of playing all 3 rooms on a regular basis, this mix feels like it was designed for Room 1. It's influenced by the sight lines from the perspective behind the decks, the lights, the fact that sometimes all you can see are hands reaching into the booth, as well as those behind you dancing alone in the corners." Erol Alkan

The 20-track mix opens with Jamie Paton’s driving, rhythmic remix of Maurice & Charles before taking in the off-kilter Latin electrofunk of Carisma, Zongamin’s moody Manfredas rework and Alkan’s own percussive, mechanical remix of The Emperor Machine before delving into the Phantasy back catalogue. Recent offerings from Tom Rowlands (Chemical Brothers) and Ghost Culture appear alongside an exclusive airing of Erol’s propulsive, shimmering ‘Sub Conscious’ and a brand new offering from Cowboy Rhythmbox aka Nathan Gregory Wilkins and Richard X.

Boot & Tax’s earworm ‘Acido’ refrain segues into Alkan’s own ‘Bang’ and an as yet unreleased Chicago Mix from Michigan’s Todd Osborn while the acid squelch of Claro Intelecto’s ‘Tone’ and supersonic synth euphoria of Daywalker + CF herald a dream sing-out-loud bootleg of Alkan’s ‘A Hold On Love’ and Saint Etienne’s classic Neil Young cover ‘Only Love Can Break Your Heart’. It’s an enthralling mix from a true master of his craft.

01 Maurice & Charles - Sofa Love (Jamie Paton Remix) [[Emotional] Especial]
02 Cowboy Rhythmbox - We Got The Box [Phantasy]
03 Carisma - Talento Matemático [Cómeme]
04 The Emperor Machine - RMI Is All I Want (Erol Alkan's Extended Rework) [Southern Fried]
05 Manfredas - Square Lights (Zongamin Remix Take 2) [Les Disques De La Mort]
06 Phreak - Acid On [AtomTM_Audio_Archive]
07 Erol Alkan - Sub Conscious [Phantasy]
08 Andre Bratten - Trommer og Bass [Correspondant]
09 Tom Rowlands - Through Me [Phantasy]
10 Fumes - Jack2000 [AtomTM_Audio_Archive]
11 Victor Shan - How You Want It (Shan's Warehouse Version) [Running Back]
12 Boot & Tax - Acido [Optimo Trax]
13 Erol Alkan - Bang [Phantasy]
14 Ben Jenkins - K3M [Alleviated]
15 Todd Osborn - Put Your Weight On It (Chicago Mix) [Running Back]
16 Voiski - From White To Red [Long Island Electrical Systems]
17 Claro Intelecto - Tone [Delsin]
18 Ghost Culture - Red Smoke [Phantasy]
19 Daywalker + CF - Supersonic Transport [Long Island Electrical Systems]
20 Erol Alkan - A Hold On Love [Phantasy]
+ Saint Etienne - Only Love Can Break Your Heart [Saint Etienne Ltd.]